From the Mind of Mikel

A University of Worcester Film Studies Blog

The Cronenberg I Love…

A Dangerous Method

I’m sat here this evening, well past 10 at night, trying to put together my lecture for tomorrow morning (at 9!) on David Cronenberg‘s A Dangerous Method as part of my Contemporary World Cinema class.

Where does one even start to introduce students to the cinema of David Cronenberg – a director I have followed and adored since I was 10 years old and saw him guest host on Elwy Yost‘s Saturday Night at the Movies, back in 1978. Cronenberg brought in a short clip from his latest film, The Brood and that short clip scared the shit out of me. And here was a young, Jewish Torontonian, making balls-up horror movies – it was love at first sight for me!

Mark Kermode gave an excellent introduction to Cronenberg recently in anticipation of the release of Cosmopolis. I may quibble about his inclusion of  Crash, but other than that, I absolutely agree with Kermode’s list, including the ranking.  Here’s that video:

And, just because it’s awesome, here’s the head explosion sequence from Scanners!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Cronenberg I Love…

  1. Pingback: The Cronenberg I Love… « Film Studies @ Worcester

  2. Mikel J. Koven on said:

    As an after-thought/coda, having finished making my notes for the lecture tomorrow morning, I’m a bit surprised at how much I can say about Cronenberg just off the top of my head – particularly in reference to a film as recent as A Dangerous Method (which is the whole point of this particular module). Its interesting, at least to me, how much more your ideas flow when you put the books away and simply talk on what you know.

  3. One if the things I like about blogging is how organic it can be. You get an idea and just run with it. At least that is how it works for me a lot of the time anyway…might explain a few things! I promise not to submit a stream of consciousness essay though.

    Looking forward to seeing the film! And of course, listening to the lecture!

Leave a Reply

houseoffreudstein

... celebrating the sacred month of Scalarama

Celluloid Wicker Man

Reviews, Essays and Analysis of Film and Art By Adam Scovell

Vanishing Point

TESC Literary and Art Magazine

The Filmgoers' Guide

DISCUSSING FILMS CULT AND CLASSIC

Surviving the Dead

in life, no one makes it out alive

.TAO

Training.Achivement.Openness

Blood Poetry

Challenging Acceptability in Poetry

debeysklenar

Once upon a time fairy tales ruled.

Young Progressive Voices

A new generation of progressive thought. Another generation of liberal politics.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

Cinemadame

memoirs of a movie addict

The Chabad Sociologist

Exploring Chabad, Judaism, and Sociology.

Roses Have Thoughts

A Salopians view of the world through screens

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Admiralfilms

Cinematography & Equipment Hire

